Hackathon against Covid-19: German Federal Ministry chooses IOTA as finalist

IOTA was chosen by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, in coordination with Europeaid, in the final of the #SmartDevelopmentHack. The aim is to combat the effects of the Corina crisis with innovative, digital solutions. From over 1.000 submissions, 20 projects were selected to take part in the hackathon.

IOTA and 19 other teams work together on solutions

The corona crisis, and especially the long-term economic consequences, is far from over. As new as the situation, attempts are being made to minimize these effects. In the press release The BMZ says:

The corona shock presents developing countries with a major challenge that has enormous social and economic consequences. With the #SmartDevelopmentHack, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) is promoting innovative digital solutions to tackle the challenges of the corona virus in partner countries.

This should succeed with digital solutions like those from IOTA. In addition to 19 other projects, the team was allowed to participate in the hackathon on May 14 and 15, 2020. In the two-day workshop, the teams no longer competed against each other, but worked together on optimal solutions to deal with the following problems, among others:

  • Work and economy: Sustainable economic development and decent employment.
  • Local innovation: Promotion of digital solutions with local impact, promotion of local ecosystems
  • Equal opportunity: Concepts that bridge the digital divide and ensure equal access to education and healthcare
  • Good governance and human rights: Citizens and decision makers need quick and reliable information. Promotion of digital solutions in partner countries to support the development of information systems and the protection of human rights
  • Data and development: Predict pandemic development and better plan and organize healthcare

A jury will select the winners. These receive further financial support from the ministry to continue working on and realizing their projects.

Corona pandemic hits people in developing countries particularly hard

While in Austria and Germany you can usually rely on state support for financial problems, this is usually not the case in developing countries. That is why they are particularly hard hit by the pandemic. It presents many people with existential challenges.

For this reason, the above-mentioned topics were discussed by the 20 finalists on May 14th and 15th and worked together on solutions to reduce people's suffering. The BMZ press release mentions, for example, the use of big data to predict chains of infection or 3D-printed respiratory protection masks (design open source available).

 

 

CRYPTUM PUMP.
Photo credit: pixabay.com | CC0

Hackathon gegen Covid-19: Deutsches Bundesministerium wählt IOTA als Finalisten

IOTA wurde vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung, in Abstimmung mit Europeaid, in das Finale des #SmartDevelopmentHack gewählt. Ziel ist es, mit innovativen, digitalen Lösungen die Auswirkungen der Corina-Krise zu bekämpfen. Aus über 1.000 Einreichungen wurden 20 Projekte ausgewählt, die am Hackathon teilnehmen durften.

IOTA und 19 weitere Teams arbeiten gemeinsam an Lösungen

Die Corona-Krise, und besonders die langfristigen wirtschaftlichen Folgen, sind noch lange nicht überwunden. So neuartig wie die Situation, versucht man auch die Ansätze zur Minimierung dieser Auswirkungen zu gestalten. In der Pressemitteilung des BMZ heißt es:

Der Corona-Schock stellt gerade Entwicklungsländer vor eine große Herausforderung, die enorme soziale und wirtschaftliche Folgen nach sich zieht. Mit dem #SmartDevelopmentHack fördert das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) innovative digitale Lösungen, um die Herausforderungen des Coronavirus in den Partnerländern zu bewältigen.

Gelingen soll dies mit digitalen Lösungen wie jenen von IOTA. Neben 19 anderen Projekten durfte das Team am 14. und 15. Mai 2020 beim Hackathon teilnehmen. In dem zweitätigen Workshop traten die Teams nicht mehr gegeneinander an, sondern arbeiteten gemeinsam an optimalen Lösungen um unter anderem folgende Probleme zu bewältigen:

  • Arbeit und Wirtschaft: Nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und menschenwürdige Beschäftigung.
  • Lokale Innovation: Förderung digitaler Lösungen mit lokaler Wirkung, Förderung von lokalen Ökosystemen
  • Chancengleichheit: Konzepte, die die digitale Kluft überwinden und einen gleichberechtigten Zugang zu Bildung und Gesundheitsversorgung gewährleisten
  • Gute Regierungsführung und Menschenrechte: Bürger und Entscheidungsträger brauchen schnelle und zuverlässige Informationen. Förderung digitaler Lösungen in Partnerländern, um den Aufbau von Informationssystemen und den Schutz der Menschenrechte zu unterstützen
  • Daten und Entwicklung: Vorhersage der Pandemie-Entwicklung und zur besseren Planung und Organisation der Gesundheitsversorgung

Eine Jury wird die Gewinner auswählen. Diese erhalten weitere finanzielle Unterstützung des Ministeriums, um an ihren Projekten weiterzuarbeiten und sie zu verwirklichen.

Corona-Pandemie trifft Menschen in Entwicklungsländern besonders hart

Während man in Österreich und Deutschland bei finanziellen Problemen im Normalfall auf staatliche Unterstützung setzen kann, ist dies in Entwcklungsländern meist nicht der Fall. Deswegen sind diese von der Pandemie besonders hart betroffen. Sie stellt viele Menschen vor existenzielle Herausforderungen.

Aus diesem Grund wurden die oben genannten Themen von den 20 Finalisten am 14. und 15. Mai diskutiert und gemeinsam an Lösungen gearbeitet, um das Leid der Menschen zu reduzieren. In der Pressemitteilung des BMZ werden zum Beispielhaft die Verwendung von Big Data zur Vorhersage von Infektionsketten oder 3D-gedruckte Atemschutzmasken (Design Open Source verfügbar) genannt.

 

 

KRYPTOKUMPEL.
Bildnachweis: pixabay.com | CC0

Nachrichten aus der Kryptowelt